Donna the Buffalo - Wakarusa Music Festival

2008 Artist Lineup

Donna the Buffalo

Rootsy folk-rock sextet Donna the Buffalo formed in 1987 in Ithaca, NY. The group’s three vocalists — Tara Nevins, who also plays fiddle, guitar, and accordion; guitarist Jeb Puryear; and keyboardist Joe Thrift — add another layer of diversity to the group’s eclectic and often socially conscious sound. Guitarist Jim Miller, drummer Tom Gilbert, and bassist Jed Greenberg complete the ensemble. Almost immediately after forming the band, Donna the Buffalo started touring, which they continue to do extensively. Not only is Donna the Buffalo a regular attraction at festivals like Merlefest and Telluride, the group has also shared the stage with like-minded artists such as 10,000 Maniacs, Los Lobos, and Rusted Root. Almost as soon as the band started touring, Donna the Buffalo began releasing albums. Their debut, 1989’s The White Tape, was recorded and released by the band themselves; for their following album, The Red Tape, they enlisted their friend Mitch Easter to produce. Finding time to record when their busy touring schedule allowed, Donna the Buffalo released a self-titled album in 1993, following it with 1996’s The Ones You Love, 1998’s Rockin’ in the Weary Land, and 2000’s Positive Friction. Nevins also released a solo album, Mule to Ride, in 1999. ~ Heather Phares, All Music Guide

Mulberry Mountain :: Ozark, Arkansas
Connect With Us!